Why Do I Need to Use My Insurance After a Car Crash in Florida?
If you were in a car crash in Florida, you might be surprised to learn that Florida is a no-fault state. But what’s the difference, and what should you do in Florida after a car accident?
Florida Is a No-Fault Insurance State
Because Florida is a no-fault state, the law requires that car accident victims submit claims for their injuries through their personal injury protection (PIP) insurance coverage. However, no-fault coverage (Personal Injury Protection or “PIP”) only covers 80% percent of qualifying medical expenses and 60% percent of lost wages up to $10,000.00 (combined).
For property damage to your vehicle, you have the option to file a claim with your own insurance company and pay the deductible yourself. Your insurance company may reimburse you if it is able to recover the amount of the deductible from the negligent driver who caused the accident. Alternatively, may also file a property damage claim through the negligent driver’s insurance.
Florida’s Minimum Insurance Coverage Requirements
Florida requires a minimum of the following:
- $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) coverage
- $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL) coverage
Florida does not require bodily injury liability (BIL) coverage for non-commercial drivers. Because many drivers either don’t carry insurance or only carry the minimum coverage, insured drivers should add an uninsured motorist/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage option to their insurance policy.
The UM/UIM coverage protects you if you have injuries from an accident and the other driver doesn’t carry BIL or doesn’t have enough in BIL to cover your medical expenses and other damages associated with your injuries.
How a Florida Lawyer Can Help with Your Accident Claim
If you retain a lawyer after an accident, your attorney can help you with your accident claim by:
- Speaking with your claim adjuster on your behalf
- Gathering evidence from dash cams, nearby business security footage, and witness statements
- Having an accident reconstruction artist develop a timeline of accident events
- Gathering medical records from before and after the accident
- Negotiating the best outcome for you
Contact a South Florida Attorney for Your Accident Claim
Call us at Lyons & Snyder at 954-462-8035 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation at one of our three South Florida offices.