Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
Lyons & Snyder Lyons & Snyder - Trial Attorneys
  • No Recovery No Fee
  • ~
  • Hablamos Español
  • ~
  • Call now for a free consultation

What Are Florida’s No-Fault Insurance Laws?

CarAcc5

Recently, Florida’s Civil Justice & Property Rights Subcommittee unanimously voted to repeal the state’s no-fault insurance laws — a decision that will completely alter the auto-insurance laws that have been standing for the past 5 decades. The new proposal has brought the No-Fault law into the limelight. Even though people may have heard about the law before, they’ve probably never bothered to learn about it further.

Furthermore, many people may even be unaware of this law’s existence and what its essential functions are. And therefore, in today’s post, we’ll be discussing Florida’s No-Fault insurance laws in detail and how you should be aware of your rights and duties if you were ever to get into an accident.

What Exactly Are The No-Fault Insurance All About?

Florida’s No-Fault Insurance laws essentially state that in an automotive accident, all parties involved must recover their losses by filing a claim to their respective insurance companies regardless of which party was at fault during the accident. For this, every driver needs to be covered by PIP (Personal Injury Protection) insurance that amounts to at least $10,000.00.  PIP insurance pays up to 80% of the 1st $10,000.00 of your medical bills incurred from to the accident as well as 60% of your lost income.

Things You Should Keep In Mind

As the no-fault law still stands, there are a few things that you must keep in mind if you were ever to get into a car accident.

  1. Get the other driver’s contact information, license plate, and insurance number immediately after the accident occurs. You will need this information once you file your claim.
  2. Collect evidence of the accident’s occurrence by taking pictures of the site as well as your injuries. Keep duplicate copies of your hospital records or any other formal documents regarding the accident, if any.
  3. Get medical attention for your injuries immediately after the accident. Florida’s 14 Day PIP rule states that the victim must have their injuries treated by a medical professional within 14 days of the accident occurring.
  4. If you sustain any major injuries, then you need to enlist the aid of an attorney immediately.
  5. Most insurance companies will try to twist your case to avoid paying you, It is important that you have an experienced personal injury attorney by your side to deal with such circumstances. 

Were You Recently in a Car Crash in Florida?

If you’ve recently been in a car accident, then our team of Plantation personal injury attorneys at Lyons & Snyder is here to help you. We understand that this can be a very stressful time. Let us get you the financial compensation you deserve. To learn more, please reach out to us today to schedule a free consultation.

Resource:

investopedia.com/what-to-do-after-a-car-accident-a-7-step-guide-5089114

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Skip footer and go back to main navigation