Delray Beach Uber & Lyft Accident Lawyer
Chances are, you, or at least many people you know, have taken a ride in Uber or Lyft. After all, 36 percent of Americans have used a rideshare company in 2018 alone, according to Statista. Maybe you are even a driver. There is no denying the convenience of using an app on your phone to quickly flag down a ride; millions of Americans use ridesharing services like Uber and Lyft every day to get to work, the grocery store, the train station or airport, or get home safely and responsibly after an evening of drinking. Unfortunately, Uber and Lyft require zero driver training. They do not ban habitual traffic offenders. Neither company even takes full financial responsibility when their drivers, whom they classify as independent contractors, cause a collision. Just as bad, Uber and Lyft do not provide workers’ compensation for their drivers if they, the driver, is injured in a crash. Contact our experienced Delray Beach Uber & Lyft accident lawyers for more information or assistance.
The At Fault Driver is Liable
Being in an Uber/Lyft wreck is the same as any other in some regards—the driver who caused the crash is financially liable for your damages. That means that if you are a passenger in an Uber sedan and were T-boned by a texting pickup truck driver, that pickup truck driver is responsible. However, Florida’s comparative negligence law may hold the Uber driver accountable as well if it can be proven that their actions contributed to the crash. For example, if the Uber driver was speeding, they may also be found negligent, and therefore you may be able to collect damages from Uber as well. Another way Uber’s large insurance policy may be utilized is if the at-fault non Uber driver does not have sufficient insurance to cover all of your damages. In this scenario, you could potentially collect compensation from Uber’s Uninsured/Underinsured motorist policy.
What is Uber and Lyft’s Insurance Policies?
Under Florida statute 627.748, Uber and Lyft are required by Florida law to carry at least $1 million in bodily injury liability. However, this is already Uber and Lyft’s policies. When a driver is en route to pick a passenger up, or has a passenger in their vehicle, the $1 million (maximum) bodily injury policy applies if the Uber driver causes a collision, either injuring the passenger or a third party, such as another motorist or a cyclist. If the collision occurs when the Uber or Lyft app is on, and the driver is waiting for a rider to hail a ride, Uber and Lyft are still liable, but the insurance policy at play is much less—just $50,000 per person in bodily injury, $100,000 per accident, and $25,000 in property damage liability. If the app is offline altogether, the driver’s own insurance policy must be used, which in Florida must be at least the same 50/100/25 as mentioned above.
Contact a Delray Beach Uber or Lyft Accident Lawyer Today
Here at Lyons & Snyder P.A, we have the experience and legal clout to stand up against these multi billion dollar corporations when they deny responsibility. If you were injured in a collision that involved an Uber or Lyft driver, or you are an injured rideshare driver yourself, we can help. Call Lyons & Snyder today at (954) 462-8035 to schedule a free consultation.